Chewy-crunch-ouch!!


With A doing what he does for a living, and me being the carefree type, we do get into the odd argument every now and then, regarding my diet. More accurately, my very strong sweet tooth. So I try and go sugar-free whenever I can, especially with A around. Yesterday I went into a newsagent and while I was buying my monthly mag, the liquorice Menthos caught my eye. So as not to feel guilty, I then bought the sugar-free Menthos as well. So while I was driving, I started off with the fully sugar-loaded Menthos. And whilst chewing, I had the most awful, nails-down-a-blackboard crunching sensation ever. Just like biting on and chewing a pebble. I grabbed a tissue and looked down at my filling, mingled with the Menthos. It had come out with the sweet 😦 I had to pull over because at that point I must have been a sight, driving up the main road in Victoria, spitting out sweets and tooth fillings, letting out a scream and becoming red in the face with my panic! I called A and told him that whilst having a sugar-free Menthos (of course!) the filling came out. I went over to his place, and as luck would have it, he had the temporary filling material, and therefore solved my problem, if only temporarily. A has had a long and weary crusade-like battle with my teeth from when I trusted him enough to look at them. He never seems to give up on me, and is always giving me tooth-paste, floss, cleaning materials and tools, leaflets and everything else. And I act all bitch-like and buy Menthos. I know…I know.

I can’t help thinking though, that I’m being sent signals from every direction to stop with the sugary sweets, but I’m being too headstrong to take heed of them! Time to change!!

Leave a Reply

