New Beginnings…


I’m in England for my last visit before the wedding and it’s slowly slowly creeping up on me that we’re truly going to be tying the knot and taking a deep plunge into the unknown. It’s not honestly unknown, because I have no doubts about it all, and I’ve known that it was A all along for as long as I can remember. But I think even though you’re prepared for it all and you think you know what you’re entering into, nothing really prepares you for the real thing.

Some people get married and change house. I’m getting married and it’s a real probability I’ll be changing country as well. It scares me and excites me in equal measures. A went through this transition two years ago by choice, and I’ll be going through it not exactly by choice but as a consequence. However I know that this will be a chance to venture out of the small island and gain an experience which at the moment I can afford to do, but who knows what’ll happen in the future. It will definitely break my heart leaving my family behind but thank God mum is as crazy as I am, and she won’t back out from coming to visit on a short notice. I won’t particularly miss my work and the problems it brings with it, but I’ll miss the kind and gentle characters who pop in, sometimes just for a chat, and bring me some of their fresh produce just as a kind gesture. I’ll miss my friends, the ease with which we could meet up and chat about everything and nothing at the same time. 

But I’ll be gaining my best friend, my rock and the one person I’ve only and truly loved, on a full-time basis. The long-distance relationship we’ve had going on for the past two years has not been easy. I think we carried it all off brilliantly, and meeting up after a long period of absence, was always beautiful. We’ve learnt not only to trust each other, but we’ve also come to appreciate each other more than ever. Absence does make the heart grow fonder, at least in our case. But it’s now time to stop all this, and (to use the over-cliched term), settle down. 

Change is not easy to accept. It’s very comfortable to stay as is and live comfortably in a ‘routine’. To wake up in the morning and know that today will be like the day before and like the day to come. I know I’m getting married in July, have a 2-week honeymoon after that, but then? Your guess is as good as mine. It’s scary but I wouldn’t want it any other way. Because I won’t be alone anymore, I’ll have A besides me every day and we’ll go through life’s ups and downs together. We’ll live, laugh and cry together, we’ll have our own family unit and even though we’ll be hundred of miles away from our ex-life, we’ll be setting up our own new lifestyle. Together. And that’s the most important thing 🙂

So in the meantime, fasten your seatbelts and off we go!

3 thoughts on “New Beginnings…

  1. oh josepha you made me cry! you put all those huge feelings very well in words. i felt the same way 8 months ago and i’m still excited at the thought of going home to my husband each and every day. marriage is not easy, or rather, living with someone is not easy but it’s a partner in crime you’re living with and someone you know will always share your happiness and sorrow. added to that, you’re starting a new life in a different country (you’ll be missed)…as a fellow islander i salute your decision and wish you the best of luck. you and A deserve the best.x

  2. Thanks mau! I will miss so many things, I try not to think of it because I get a mini panic attack!! But hopefully, fingers crossed, it will be the best decision we’ve ever taken!!

  3. Pingback: Changing Land – Two Years On.. | Cup of Crazy anyone?

Leave a Reply

