The Move!


Two years after A left, 26 visits to England later and a fortune spent on mobile calls, yesterday was my turn to follow suit, and I am now officially living in England. It was a difficult weekend, saying goodbyes to friends and family, especially my mother, and at times I just wanted to blink my eyes and be gone. But it was done, and we left Malta together yesterday. We still have a week left of our od lease before moving into the new flat. So as much as I loved Barton Mill where we’re currently staying, it now does not feel like home anymore since we know that we only have here till Saturday. We then move to The Mews, which we visited yesterday evening. Of course since we do not have the key yet, we were peeking behind the gate, but from what I saw, I like it. The road is covered in trees on both sides, and it’s only a ten minute walk to the centre.

Since I am now unemployed, I am expected (rightly so) to be the Ideal Housewife, a role I never had a chance of acting upon before. My biggest trial will be where cooking is concerned because I never tried cooking before and now it would seem very terrible of me to have A come back from work and still have to cook himself. So after I shower and tidy up a bit, I’m off to the centre to buy a simple recipe book, choose a couple of recipes and set off to buy the foods needed. Of couse, the test is trying the food and liking it 🙂 And I must rake out the umbrella, since surprise surprise, it’s raining.

So until Saturday, I’ll enjoy the few days we still have here. I’ll miss the sound of the lake and the grassy lawn. But since I now know we’e leaving, I am very eager to settle into our place, and start our new life together. As for Malta, I’ll see you at the end of the month!

I’ll keep you updated dearest friends…guess I’ll have the time now 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Move!

  1. Aw yay! You sound like me, 5 years late haha. What a deja vu! I remember the heartbreaking goodbyes, still prefer not to in fact. Re the cooking, I was the same. But once we moved in together, I was off and haven’t looked back and now LOVE cooking and am pretty good at it too 🙂 You’ll be fine. A recipe book that really helped was this one, if you can get your hands on it: http://www.bookfinder.com/dir/i/Express_Lane_Cookbook-Real_Meals_for_Really_Busy_People/1881527719/

  2. I do hope I get better with time, because these past two days have been one experiment after the other (and not always with successful resuts!!) I need to give myself some time, and I’ll definitely keep trying 🙂 Thanks for the tip!!

Leave a Reply

