Be thankful…


Yes, I’m still alive ๐Ÿ™‚

And lots of things have been going on.

Sometimes the obvious is right beneath our noses, but for some reason or other, we choose not to acknowledge it. I had been feeling lethargic and energy-less for the past couple of weeks and it’s like a truck has run over me, reversed and run me over again. I’m feeling sensitive in every sense of the word and I immediately knew what was going on, but pretended not to for some days. However there came a point when I had to take action. It was ridiculous denying the obvious. There are some things you just know – how, I don’t know, but you just do.

So we bought a pregnancy test and it resulted positive!

We tried a second one (just to test whether the first one was working heh) and it was still positive!

I guess that means we’re expecting ๐Ÿ™‚

We laughed, we cried, we jumped around the bathroom and we looked at each other in amazement.

Because for the past eight years we have been each other’s life, more so since we got married. I have looked at him at times and thanked God over and over again, because I have lost in my life, but I have also met this most amazing person who understands me like no one does, who just gets me. I am at my best with him, and he with me. We have supported and held each other during tough times, and have laughed together when times were good.

It is scary because our lives are going to change as I can not even start to imagine. It’s frightening being totally responsible for this tiny being who depends on you wholly. It’s frightening being parents when we’ve just gotten used to being married, and especially when we have never had any parenting tips. It is scary, but it’s also a feeling so beautiful and perfect, that I know we’ll just be okay. Because this tiny being, who is now approximately the size of a grape, is already the centre of our lives.

I’m grateful for lots of things. I’m grateful for having the most amazing parents myself, for A’s parents who have become my parents, for having a supportive family, for meeting A, for the best friends I could ever hope for. I’m thankful for my life.

And now, God willing, we’ll soon have a little one who will make me a million times for thankful ๐Ÿ™‚

So that is my reason I’ve not been writing quite as often as I normally have been doing. Relatives and close friends had to be told face to face, and no one would have been able to keep my mouth shut here if I had started writing. Now that the cat is most definitely out of the bag, it’s my turn to share this amazing news with you.

So I’m thankful for the past year which has offered us changes of all types. I’m extremely grateful for the present which allows me to share this beautiful time of my life with everyone who means something to me. And hopefully I’ll be thankful in the new year, which will allow us to meet our new little angel.

Seasons Greetings to you and your families and may 2011 be everything you wish it to be!

7 thoughts on “Be thankful…

Leave a Reply

