Memories are made of this…


Little Munchkin is now over seven months old. Seven months and nine days to be precise. Looking at her, I find myself asking the same question over and over again – “Where has the time gone?” She no longer is a baby. She giggles when I jump up and down and sing to her – the crazier the move, the louder she squeals, she moves her head to the left and right when I block her favourite TV programmes, she screams when I try and clean her nose and when she’s fed up, she’ll let everyone around her know of it.

My pensive angel at 3 weeks 🙂

This weekend we shifted from the Cocoon to the Footmuff, and I have to admit I became a bit teary-eyed. When she was born, she was so small she got lost in her Cocoon. We’d have to prop her on blankets and put the neck piece to keep her in place when using the Bee. She is now thrice her birth weight, exceeding the 9kg mark (and that was according to last month’s weigh-in), she’s grown tall (her 9 month-old trousers no longer fit) and she’s my own Jack-in-the-Box, never stopping for one minute, always kicking, always on the go. She’s tiring, but she’s fun.

She went from this…

…to this.

So I finally sat down and ordered her first six months of life in photos. I received them today, bought the album and will now start putting the photos in place. The first photo I ordered was that of the pregnancy test sticks – where it all began. I put in my pregnancy pictures – my favourite is my 19 week picture. I remember straining my back backwards in order to make my slightly rounded tummy more prominent. The picture of me awaiting her birth at hospital follows, her first picture (a macabre one at that) is next, along with the early days of her life – her first bath, the breast-feeding days, her first visit to Malta. She was so small, yet just perfect 🙂 We have pictures of her christening and of course Christmas follows that.

And that covers the first six months of her life – 1st July 2011 to 1st January 2012. Some of the pictures will be placed in her Baby Book, and the rest will find their place in her album. Her first album 🙂

Now today I plan on printing posts from this blog – posts that dealt with the pregnancy and Cesca, right up until the beginning of this year. I plan on having them filed and stored with the album. I stopped writing in the Baby Diary I kept all throughout the pregnancy when C was born, so this blog will help fill in any gaps I didn’t write there during pregnancy, and will also follow on from there, till now.

That way some things will never be forgotten, and my memories of those wonderful six months, and the nine months preceding that, will become C’s property, and she too will get to know how happy she made us all. From that moment back in November 2010 🙂

A baby will make love stronger, days shorter, nights longer, bankroll smaller, home happier, clothes shabbier, the past forgotten, and the future worth living for.

9 thoughts on “Memories are made of this…

  1. Hi Jos ! reading this post made me all the more excited to meet my baby ! Pregnancy is a very nice experience but now I can’t wait to start collecting baby photos 🙂 I think it’s a really nice idea to collect these mementos for Cesca, she will surely appreciate them in the future 🙂

  2. Hehe yes the stork has been busy indeed 🙂 I thought maybe the news had reached you in some way, but we didn’t get to meet in December so I couldn’t tell you face to face! I’m 33 weeks along, should be due towards the end of March. Thanks a lot for your wishes !! Soon getting there :)) xxxx ( I love reading your posts btw )

  3. Thanks Loretta!

    Wow Monique – you’re soon there!! C was born at 37 weeks, so you might be very close lol 🙂 Hope you’re doing good dear, and can’t wait to hear the lovely news x Take care!!

Leave a Reply

