Selling on Sunday


Those of you who follow me on Twitter may have heard me talk about my latest effort at spring-cleaning. We’re going to a car-boot sale tomorrow. We live in a two-storey house and since we only really use the ground-floor, the first floor was meant to be the spare bedroom and a place to keep the empty suitcases. The situation as follows is that the first floor is still the spare bedroom, but the suitcases are suddenly full, the two wardrobes we have there are also full, the shoes cabinet has no empty space and I have a whole unit full of C’s ex-attire. Immediate action was required!

I tracked down a car-boot sale which is only about five minutes away from here and we’re going tomorrow. A friend of mine who went once told me it’s a great selling spot, it’s really busy, it’s held every Sunday and apparently baby things sell right off the shelf! The only drawback is the early hour at which we have to rise, and we have to take C with us, because I am not asking anyone to come look after her at 6am! A is less than excited – in fact I know he’s dreading it. I, on the other hand, am so excited! I once went to a similar sale in Gozo with three large boxes of books. My friend and her husband came with me. We set up the table, got a whole moneybox full of change and I managed to sell quite a lot of books! This time around I have books, clothes (C’s, A’s and my own), shoes, bags and other bibs and bobs. We’ll be lucky if we have anything to wear after I’m fully done. You see, I’ve been ‘ready’ since Tuesday, but every day I go back upstairs and add to the things we are taking with us. A managed to find his share of the lot and started removing the odd shirt and top, insisting ‘I still wear those‘. Yeah, right. I am sure they will find themselves in the selling pile again.

This is the present selling pile. I've just had some boxes delivered, so today will be spent packing everything in!

In total we have around 150 items. I’ve priced them and separated them according to price and category.

Worst-case scenario – we don’t sell a thing, in which case, I will just start giving them away for free. I am desperate to get rid of them!!
Best-case scenario – we sell quite a few, and I’ll be able to treat A to a lovely Sunday lunch somewhere.

At least we’ll have the full use of our first-floor again.

So wish me luck πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Selling on Sunday

  1. Good luck with the sale! To be honest when we eventually move to the UK this is one of the things I am looking forward to- car boot sales! haha I too recently went through a lot of our stuff and have a huge garbage bag full of clothes to get rid of. But here in Malta its a little harder to do something like you are…so typically I’ll just throw out or donate if I can. Happy Selling!

Leave a Reply

