The Bubble-Gum Flavoured Ice-Cream


Today is a day of mourning and remembrance for many people. It’s the anniversary of the day when those shocking atrocities happened. Somehow we all remember where we were that day and what we were doing at the time. I was planning a trip to America with my best friend, a trip we were set to start on September the 13th.

Unfortunately that never happened.

Today all I can think of is the most delicious ice-cream I ever remember having. I was young, perhaps around five. It was on one of our trips to New York – we were lucky to live close enough to visit often, and we had family there. I remember being with my aunt and she bought me this amazing bubble-gum flavoured ice-cream. It wasn’t the shocking blue ice-cream you find today. It was a white-coloured cone, and I remember it having small bits of bubble-gum in it, and by the time the ice-cream finished, I had a huge blob of gum to chew on. It was more unforgettable and tasty since I wasn’t allowed to have bubble-gum at home. And what I remember so clearly is sitting outside the ice-cream parlour, eating my ice-cream and looking upwards at the sky and seeing these huge two towers which seemed to keep on going forever. They were the biggest buildings I had ever seen.

It was one of the most amazing days of my childhood.

And I can’t help but think whatever happened to that shop, the owners and the customers. As close as it was to the World Trade Centre, I can’t kid myself into thinking that it’s still there. That, along with another million lives and things were destroyed on September 11, 2001.

Up to this day I can’t see a bubble-gum flavoured ice-cream without thinking about that day. And I will never have another one because I’m sure, it definitely won’t measure up to the memory I have. Memories coming from a time and age when I knew nothing except love and happiness, and the world was a permanent happy place. Evil, anger and sadness had no place in my world.

Then.

2 thoughts on “The Bubble-Gum Flavoured Ice-Cream

Leave a Reply

