Believe


We grumble and we complain. We rue our ‘bad’ luck, convince ourselves we’re cursed and blame everything on stupidities.

And then you read about a young girl’s ordeal in her so-young age and you just shut up and stop.

For whatever we feel at our worse, nothing, NOTHING, compares to the suffering of a child in the eyes of the cruel monster called illness.

You then see pictures of the young girl, with a big smile on her face, hugging her parents and playing around, and you know you must set your priorities straight, thank God for whatever situation you are in, and pray with every bit of your being, for the young girl with a big heart.

I know the girl and I know her parents. They live just up the road from my mother’s home yet we’ve only seen her in her push-chair a couple of times because she left Gozo so early in her life because of her condition. She’s spent half of her life away from her home and set up a new one in a hospital.

Thankfully the money has been raised, the people were exceedingly generous. Now all that is left is for us to pray. Pray for the little girl to go back home and enjoy her childhood.

It breaks my heart to think she’s only yet three, yet endured so much. Too much.

Keep strong Leah!

Teach this triple truth to all: A generous heart, kind speech, and a life of service and compassion are the things which renew humanity.

(Buddhist quote)

5 thoughts on “Believe

  1. Good luck little one, you’re in our prayers xxx
    In moments like these I feel so pround I’m Maltese, generosity at its best 🙂

  2. So true Jo, the family has been on my mind all day. And even though I’m not too happy with things going on in my family life, I’m truly grateful for what I do have…

    • I’ve learnt to be so appreciative of the little I have, and not let the bad things overshadow the good ones. When you hear news of this sort, you have to be thankful x

  3. Pingback: Highlights – October 2012 | Cup of Crazy!

Leave a Reply

