Blessing


This past week has been infernal temperature-wise. When not at home we can be found racing our way to the coast, trying to catch a breeze and cool down. Most times we manage, others we quasi-despair. I haven’t had my hair done in a fortnight and I’m washing it every other day and immediately pulling it back into a bun. Necklaces are giving me rashes and no powder can hide my facial shine. At this point I have started believing that too much heat can kill you.

Just because I need to see cold images and remind myself that there are other feelings besides feeling hot, humid and sticky!

Just because I need to see cold images and remind myself that there are other feelings besides feeling hot, humid and sticky!

Okay, this is more like it...

Okay, this is more like it…

The good point in all this is that C’s cast has been on for over a week now and she has not yet complained once. She has grown used to it, she never tugs or plays with it and is handling it all surprisingly well. She does miss swimming and splashing around in water and bath-times are now a two-person deal, but we’re managing.

For all my complaints at time – about her screaming, her stubbornness and her boundless energy, I have to say that C is our blessing. She is now at the wonderful age where we can properly communicate and she is learning new words and phrases everyday. She is not one to complain or moan around (thankfully) but she does get angry at times and of course that’s when the screaming tends to start! But I look at her young self with a cast as big as half her arm and I realize that she is just two, she’s still a little baby and she’s not any trouble, not really and I can’t possibly get angry with her, not at this moment.

Put my arm in a cast in the middle of summer and I wouldn’t stop moaning about it, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

