Back to Baking


Because of the insufferable heat the islands offer in summer, I had to pause my baking activities and took a two-month break. Using an oven in the middle of a Maltese summer is the equivalent of adding Tabasco to a chilli burger and then complaining it’s too hot and spicy. My hands were itching (quite literally!) and I was drooling over recipes I was searching for and going through in my cooking books and magazines.

Then last week, the weather cooled down a bit.

And so I baked!

And as I always do, I get over-excited. There is something about a lit oven with a baking cake inside that makes me happy. Be it the warm heat, the delicious scent coming out of the oven or the bubbly excitement when finding out how the cake actually tastes! ย We had friends over for one night and family the next, so the occasions called for two cakes. ย The first one was quite straightforward – it was an Almond and Apricot cake, whilst the second one – a Mojito Genoise, required that bit more work and effort, but the results were simply yummy!

(In my excitement I forgot to take any photos, but I can assure you, you won’t mind the appearance of the cakes because you’ll be too busy devouring them!!)

I’ll give you the online link of the Mojito Genoise cake only because the other cake is easy to find. One minor tweek I’d recommend is decreasing the amount of sugar used in the Mojito syrup because it comes a bit too sweet when using the recommended amount. The rest is as good as it’ll ever get ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Mojito Genoise cake

I did not cover the whole cake with buttercream only because I did not have the time to do so. This cake may require some extra effort, but it'll definitely be appreciated by your guests!!

I did not cover the whole cake with buttercream only because I did not have the time to do so and I did not want to over-sweeten the cake. This cake may require some extra effort, but it’ll definitely be appreciated by your guests!!

4 thoughts on “Back to Baking

  1. Ommi ma….. my exact same feelings!!! I was dying to bake and today I baked a caramelized apple upside down cake (which is literally – heavenly) – http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/10/22/buttery-caramel-apple-upside-down-cake/ – pls do try it if you love apple desserts. And I baked an orange sultana cake (which I got from an Australian Weekly cookery book) which is also very moist and tasty!! So yes I also felt like a 3 yr old baking for the very first time ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy baking!!!

    • I HAVE to try that apple cake Maria!! I haven’t done one in ages so I’ll definitely try it out soon!! There’s something so calming and homely about baking, plus you get yummy results at the end ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

