The Overhaul


Wardrobes overhaul are quite common in our household. In the past year, apart from the usual summer/winter change of clothes, I’ve rid myself of my maternity wardrobe, prepared Bettina’s first wardrobe, emptied Cesca’s summer wardrobe and prepared her winter-wear, and have now started preparing our summer clothes. Children grow up so quickly, an overhaul is needed every season. I keep my favourites from Cesca’s wardrobe for Bettina, but the small bits and pieces Bettina is growing out of, are given away. It is sad how we’re already buying clothes for a twelve-month old baby when this time last year I was still in my first trimester of pregnancy.

These past couple of days I have been undergoing a major overhaul for myself. Not of clothes, but of make-up. I usually buy separate pieces of make-up, add them to my collection, and somehow end up using the same make-up for days and days, more often than not forgetting about the different colours I have.

So I have unearthed every single unity of make-up I possess. And I’ve done some online shopping for some new pieces which I have been wanting but somehow never got round to buying. I am now set. For the time being at least.

I have never really invested in some good-quality brushes. And these ones have excellent reviews on Amazon, come in a handy case and are a good deal overall!

I have never really invested in some good-quality brushes. And these ones have excellent reviews on Amazon, come in a handy case and are a good deal overall!

I have to admit that I have been Googling 'Kim Kardashian'. But only to check out some contouring tricks. Now I only need the time to try everything out at home.

I have to admit that I have been You-Tube-ing ‘Kim Kardashian’. But only to check out some contouring tricks. Now I only need the time to try everything out at home.

The Kim Kardashian You Tube video on contouring, suggest a highlighting powder to top it all off. I tried looking locally for a highlighter I liked, but they were too shimmery for me. This one is perfect because it comes with the highlighter and the colour, so you won't need anything else.

The Kim Kardashian You Tube video on contouring, suggests a highlighting powder to top it all off. I tried looking locally for a highlighter I liked, but they were too shimmery for me. This one is perfect because it comes with the highlighter and the colour, so you won’t need anything else on your cheeks.

Along with this Laura Mercier eyeliner, I got the angled eyeliner brush which is supposed to give the eyeline flick, an extra 'oomph'. And it should be easier to apply than a normal eyeliner. One to wait and see.

I love love love eyeliner. And this Laura Mercier eyeliner was something I always wanted to try.¬† I also got the angled eyeliner brush which is supposed to give the eyeline flick, an extra ‘oomph’. And it should be easier to apply than a normal eyeliner. One to wait and see.

This brand offers different shades of eyeshadows, all in this practical case. I got the brown palette, and the reviews on Amazon compared it to the Urban Decay set, at a fraction of the price. I have tried this, and the pigment is great and lasting, so I'm happy with this!

This brand offers different shades of eyeshadows, all in this practical case. I got the brown palette, and the reviews on Amazon compared it to the Urban Decay set, at a fraction of the price. I have tried this, and the pigment is great and lasting, so I’m happy with this!

I also got a face primer, an eye-lid primer, some more brown eyeshadows from Benefit and Pupa (I swear I have all different shades of brown now!), some kohl eye-pencils and my favourite mascara of all time.

Like I said, I’m done. For now.

Leave a Reply

