Summer Cool


You may understand me when I say that I like my summer reads to be light and entertaining. I save different authors for different seasons. I can not read Khaled Hosseini in August just as I can’t stick to a Sophie Kinsella novel in winter.

Be it summer, humid and hard as ever to concentrate, I’m reading Are You There Vodka? It’s me, Chelsea. I have never read her books before, though I have sometimes seen her on TV. And just like her television show, this book is crass and outrageous. It’s made up of real, short stories and I swear you will end up in tears in certain chapters.

Her style might not appeal to you, She writes like this:

“I rolled over and picked up Us Weekly magazine off the floor. The cover had a picture of Angelina, Brad, and their little Eskimo son, Maddox. I saw staring at the photo, wondering why this little boy looks so pissed off in every picture.

At first I thought he was just pissed about his Mohawk, but then I realized he’s probably furious. Maddox must have thought he hit the jackpot when some A-list celebrity rescued him from third-world Cambodia, only to discover that she was going to shuffle him back and for the to EVERY other third-world country in the universe. He’s probably like, ‘When the fuck are we gonna get to Malibu, bitch?”  

…and this:

“Then a homeless man with a dog approached us and put his hand out. This happens to be something that I have a real problem with: homeless people with pets who approach you for food when they have a perfectly delicious dog standing right there?”  

She’s straight-to-the-point, politically incorrect and without any borders whatsoever. But reading a chapter a night will make you go to sleep smiling and laughing.

And talking about smiles, have you ever heard of the BBC Proms? They are a celebration of the arts, held every summer, ending with the famous Last NIght of the Proms. This year, for the first time ever in the Proms’ history, Radio 1 was invited and it turned the Proms into a classic Ibiza night. International DJ’s like Pete Tong joined the Orchestra and gave us tune after tune of musical gems, each one bringing back memories of past summers. And I mean songs you surely know and recognize, especially if you’re in your 30s. There was Moby and Fat Boy Slim and a whole lot more. If you have time to see the whole set, I truly recommend it! It’s a feast for the senses, and totally beyond the definition of all that is cool.

You definitely know this one!

2 thoughts on “Summer Cool

Leave a Reply

